Baby Back Ribs (Oven)

I’d read that costco was meant to be good for BBQ cuts on the British BBQ Society site so picked up some Ribs whilst there earlier in the week.  Pic provided so I can remember what they where and how much they cost –
On the back it stated that these where Loin Ribs which I believe are the same as the US Baby Back cut.  First off was peeling off the membrane on the back.  This was pretty easy after following one of the many guides available out there, lift it up then peel with a paper towel to grip it –
Still had plenty Memphis Dust left over from the Boston Butt so rubbed them all over with that (after a quick rub with rapeseed oil to help it stick) –
Looking good already!  Left them in the fridge after this uncovered for about 3 hours.
I had planned to smoke these on the kamado with some newly purchased Weber Hickory wood (from Dobbies garden centre) however the rain and wind wouldn’t let up at all so ended up doing them in the oven 😦
However 3 Hours at 110 Celsius and they were perfect –
I did the bend test and they broke really nicely- the rack snapping if I lifted from just the one end.  Tested with the Thermapen and they were 86 Celsius.  I then brushed them with the Bourbon BBQ Sauce (previous post) and gave them another 5 mins at a hotter temp.
Served up with apple slaw and wedges.
Mmmmmm!
Conclusion – Cant really fault these, just missing the smoke so next time hopefully the weather will be better and I can stick these on the grill!

Leave a comment